About Us

The ARC Foundation for Cancer Research

Logo_FondationThe ARC association, created half a century ago, now the ARC Foundation for Cancer Research is the main French non-profit donor-supported organization entirely dedicated to cancer research, recognised as a major stakeholder steering, structuring and fostering cancer research in France.

The ARC Foundation’s scope covers all the fields of oncology: basic science and clinical research, epidemiology, social sciences. Combining both discipline and creativity, and with the involvement of the best researchers and clinicians, the ARC Foundation identifies, selects and implements the most innovative and promising research projects. All its actions are motivated by excellence and innovation, which are both a rule and a requirement to its dynamism.

A major milestone has been achieved in cancer research, thus moving the scientific concepts to a new paradigm. In this context, taking into account this real paradigm shift, the ARC Foundation wishes to increase further the impact of its investments to cancer research.

Its main objective is to design and expand new concepts, new tools, new technologies and new therapies in order to always benefit both more directly and more rapidly to the patients. These innovations will cover all fields, from prevention and early diagnosis to patient care and treatments.
Each year, the ARC Foundation devoted nearly €30 million to cancer research. Without the benefit of public subsidies, its actions rely on the generosity of its donors and testators.

More information: www.fondation-arc.org

The Léopold Griffuel Awards

affiche_griffuelCreated in 1970 in accordance with the late Mrs Griffuel’s will, the ARC Foundation Léopold Griffuel Awards are one of the most prestigious prizes dedicated exclusively to cancer research. The prizes are awarded by the Board of Directors of the ARC Foundation for Cancer Research after an independent evaluation by an International Scientific Committee.

Since 2014, it rewards two laureates whose work has respectively led to a major breakthrough in basic research and in translational and clinical research. Worth €150,000 each (€25,000 for the laureate and €125,000 for his research), these awards seek to promote and encourage further scientific projects.


Léopold Griffuel Award Laureates

Rang Laureate Institute Country
45th Prof. Riccardo Dalla-Favera (Basic Reseach Award) University of Columbia – New York USA
Prof. Richard Marais (Translational and Clinical Research Award) Cancer Research UK – Manchester Institute UK
44th Dr Olivier Delattre (Basic Reseach Award) Curie Institute – Paris France
Prof. Michel Attal (Translational and Clinical Research Award) IUCT Oncopole – Toulouse France
43rd Dr Yosef Yarden (Basic Reseach Award) Weizmann Institute – Rehovot Israel
Prof. Brunangelo Falini (Translational and Clinical Research Award) University of Perugia Italy
42nd Prof. Jiri Lukas Novo Nordisk Foundation – Center for Protein Research – Copenhagen Denmark
41st Prof. Guido Kroemer Gustave Roussy Institute – Villejuif France
40th Prof. Hans Clevers Hubrecht Institute – Utrecht The Netherlands
39th Prof. Hugues de Thé Saint Louis Hospital – Paris France
38th Prof. Anne Dejean-Assémat Pasteur Institute – Paris France
37th Prof. Carlo Croce The Ohio State College of Medicine – Colombus USA
36th Dr Sebastian Amigorena Curie Institute – Paris France
35th Prof. Alexander Varshavsky California Institute of Technology – Pasadena USA
34th Dr Anita Roberts National Cancer Institute USA
33rd Prof. Kari Alitalo Helsinki University Finland
32nd Dr Jacques Pouysségur The Centre Antoine Lacassagne – Nice France
31st Prof. Leeland Hartwell Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center Seattle USA
30th Prof. Thierry Boon-Falleur Ludwig Institute Belgium
29th Prof. Miroslav Radman Jacques Monod Institute France
28ème Prof. Gérard Orth Pasteur Institute – Paris France
27th Prof. Pierre May Cancer Research Institute – Villejuif France
26th Prof. Pierre Potier Natural Product Chemistry Institute France
25th Prof. Georges Mathé Paul Brousse Hospital – Villejuif France
24th Prof. Samuel Broder National Cancer Institute USA
23rd Prof. Jérôme Lejeune Jérôme Lejeune Institute
(previously Progenesis Institute) – Paris
22nd Prof. Umberto Veronesi National Cancer Institute of Milan Italy
21st Prof. François Cuzin Nice University France
20th Prof. C. Everett Koop Surgeon General (1981 – 1989) USA
19th Prof. Steven A. Rosenberg National Cancer Institute
18th Prof. Pierre Chambon Institute of Genetics and Molecular and Cellular Biology France
17th Prof. M. Antony Epstein Oxford University UK
16th Prof. Jean-Bernard Le Pecq Gustave Roussy Institute – Villejuif France
15th Prof. Michael Feldman Weizman Institute – Rehovot Israel
14th Prof. Robert Gallo National Institutes of Health – National Cancer Institute – Bethesda UK
13th Prof. Dominique Stehelin Pasteur Institute – Lille France
12th Prof. Hamao Umezawa Institute of Microbial Chemistry – Tokyo Japan
11th Prof. Vincent De Vita National Cancer Institute – Bethesda USA
10th Prof. Charlotte Friend Mount Sinaï Hospital USA
9th Prof. Elisabeth Miller MC Ardle Laboratory for Cancer Research – University of Wisconsin USA
8th Dr Raymond Latarjet Curie Institute (previously Radium Institute) – Paris France
7th Prof. Ludwig Gross Veterans Administration Hospital
New York
6th Prof. Henry Kaplan University of Stanford USA
5th Sir Richard Doll University of Oxford UK
4th Prof. Georges Klein Karolinska Institute – Stockholm Sweden
3rd Dr Howard M. Temin MC Ardle Laboratory for Cancer Research – University of Wisconsin USA
2nd Dr Georges Barski Gustave Roussy Institute – Villejuif France
1st Prof. Joseph Burchenal Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center – New York USA